Calculemus!

Let us calculate.

PGC2

with 3 comments

The second edition of the CEU Philosophy Graduate Conference is now over. It was great fun, very good talks, nice discussions over lunch, dinner & late night drinks. I commented on a paper by Barbara Trybulec from Lublin (on naturalized epistemic norms) and attended the talks on Logic & Language and Phil Sci. Lee Walters (UCL) did an awesome job, both with his talk on „might” and „would” counterfactuals, and as the commentator on Dan Zeman‘s paper on knowledge-attributions. Dan’s paper and Marion Vorms‘ – on the cognitive aspects of scientific models – were also really good. From what Andrei and George told me, Steinvör Árnadóttir (UCL), Julien Dutant (Geneva), Monica Jitareanu (CEU), and Carl Baker (Leeds) gave nice talks as well. I met a bunch of cool people doing philosophy, and I hope they enjoyed the conference as much as we did.

All in all, it was a good thing, and definitely worth the effort. CEU students had the opportunity to meet other people and share ideas with them (and both our speakers, Dan & Monica, were very good); with two editions now behind us, we might have started a nice tradition here at CEU.

I want to thank Galen Strawson and all the speakers for the rewarding intellectual experience, and all the faculty and my colleagues at CEU that took part in the discussions. Special thanks to George and Andrei, who helped a lot with all the details that nobody notices until they’re missing (they also have some photos already). Most of all, I want to thank Kati Farkas. While I provided the persistence conditions for the project for the past 5 months, she contributed all the causal powers that explain the success of the whole event. Thank you all, and see you for the third PGC!

Written by Stefan Ionescu

Martie 31, 2008 la 2:41 pm

Publicat în EN, Philosophy at CEU

3 răspunsuri

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stefan,

    You are right – the conference was a huge success. I hope you got as much out of it as I did. Although I know that you (and Kati, Andrei and George) put a lot of effort it, I think it was very much worth it. I very much hope it happens again next year.

    Thanks again for all your efforts.

    Lee.

    Lee Walters

    Aprilie 2, 2008 at 3:00 pm

  2. Thanks, Lee! I’m glad you liked it!

    I don’t know whether we’ll be having another edition next year, though; I’ll have to talk to Kati about that. Anyway, I’ll keep you informed; it would be cool to have you all again in Budapest 🙂

    Stefan

    Stefan Ionescu

    Aprilie 2, 2008 at 6:15 pm

  3. Stefan, if the next conference next year depends on the people available to work for it – I’m in, and I really mean it. It was to good – not to be real, but – not to become a tradition. Sorry for my stupid english, I hope you got it.
    By the way, Lee: Kati, Stefan and George are the only one who have to be congratulated.

    andruska

    Aprilie 6, 2008 at 12:50 am


Lasă un răspuns

